Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Kathleen O'Connell's Stages of Recovery

Kathleen O'Connell, Ph.D. is a clinical psychologist, spiritual pioneer in recovery psychology and a presidential consultant on addictions policy has also framed the stages of recovery adding some different concepts and breaking the stages into groups of years. Here is her model of the stages of recovery:

Stage One: Stabilization (Year 1)

   Learning about addiction

   Stay sober, drug or bet free no matter what
   Stabilize physically
   Learning to be part of a group
   Learning to break habit of isolation
   Find some role models
   Learn to ask for help and support
  Stage Two: Deepening-Emotional Development (Year 2 and 3)
   Identify old behaviors to let go of
   Emotional detox
   Changes in attitude
   Physical health keeps improving
   Increase ability to tolerate feelings
Stage Three: Connectedness (Years 3 to 5)
   Both joy and misery go deeper—profound
   Need to go back and redo some recovery tasks
   (Step work goes deeper)
   Learn how not to create drama (realize we created dramaJ)
   Connect to a wider circle of people in and out of recovery
   Increase in honesty

Stage Four: Integration: (Years 6 to 10)
   Learning that relationships can be based on love not need
   Automatic use of the tools of recovery
   Ability to act on insight and follow through
   Learn self-forgiveness

   Having fun and joy in life

No comments: